Sewing things!

So yeah. I keep talking about blogging about sewing, and not doing it. So I decided I just need to jump in a blog about whatever I am sewing, no matter how silly or small. It has also recently come to my attention that there are a whole lot of sewing blogs out there full of tutorials that are not so very great. I mean, hey, if it works and you like the way it works? Rock on people and do your thing. But if you want to learn the, hell, I don’t want to say “right way” to do things, but it kinda is. If you are sewing the zipper onto the back of a dress, and the dress is lined, your zipper tape should not show. End of story. But I’ll that’s for another day.

For now, we are making catnip toys!

I had a piece of  alpaca in my fabric stash. This would be a piece that Jamesy left behind. Well, stupid mother-trucking moths found it. And they found it well. Big holes people, big, fat, honking holes in this lovely piece of chocolate brown alpaca. So I did the logical thing. Felted the hell out of it and made cat toys! It turned out rather thick, as you can see in the photo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I cut it into squares about 5″ x 5″, folded in half diagonally, and zigzagged one side shut.  Then I filled them with nothing but pure catnip. Which I get from this place, http://www.sfherb.com/. Just know, as cheap as it is, a pound of catnip, is a LOT of catnip!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I just zigzagged the remaining edge shut. It was a little bit messy. There was no small amount of catnip scattered all over SewingTown, but that’s why I keep a broom down there. And here we have the finished product. Well, no, really a whole PILE of the finished product!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Another satisfied customer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yeah, I know. The catnip toys aren’t in the picture. Somewhere there is a picture of Ferris Mewler hogging ALL the catnip toys. I have no idea where in the computer it is. Lame? Oh yeah. I know. But that face!