Hobo Bag.

The finished bag!

The finished bag!

I think I have mentioned before about how I am attempting to make things to use and sell from various bits and bobs of stash fabric. This would be a bag I made for myself. The fabric was a vintage linen tablecloth, which would have become clothing, but it was a little bit heavier than I like for clothes for myself. So bag-time it is! I had downloaded the free pattern off of Pattern Review at some point. At least I think that’s where I found it. It is a Hot Pattern, and if you sew, you owe it to yourself to try Hot Patterns. They are, hands down, my favorite pattern company. Out of all of them. The big ones and the little ones…Hot Patterns is my favorite. Trudy, the owner/designer of Hot Patterns, also does a LOT of tutorials on Youtube.  I daresay that one could teach oneself to sew using her tutorials.  And her pants patterns? Are the only pants patterns I use now. ALL OTHER PANTS BOW TO HOTPATTERNS PANTS! But that will be a bunch of photos for another day. Once I get Manfriend together and play fashion shoot with all of my Hot Patterns pants.

The fun thing about this bag was that witty, awesome bit of stripe matching on the bottom? Yeah. Didn’t plan that. I did look at the pattern and think, ” Hmm, I should line up this major burgundy stripe so that it is in the center of each bag panel.” It was when I went to sew it that I realized that it would do that really cool matching thing on the bottom.

A word on the size. This bag is biiiig. I can fit all of my regular purse items into it, plus my lunch, plus a small knitting project.

I have no idea if this pattern is still available or not, but I do know that Hot Patterns has many other bag patterns.

http://www.hotpatterns.com/

2014-03-15 09.56.06

Side/back view of said bag.

2014-03-15 09.56.29

Bottom of said bag. Please note the matching stripes. Yeah, that’s right, I didn’t even plan that.

2014-03-15 09.57.07

Bag turned inside out. So that you can see the zippered pocket on the inside. The is a second pocket opposite of this one and a key clip. I love key clips. I don’t think I will ever make a bag without one.

Freeee pattern from Hot Patterns!

Freeee pattern from Hot Patterns!

